Exhibition

Ian: I watched a great film last night…. ‘Exhibition’….i think it might be right up your street…… its about 2 artists – husband and wife – living together in a modernist house in London…. feels like actual life to me….. where nothing much happens….. most of life comes at you without a plot …it just happens in this incidental flow……. this film just so aurhentic, intimate….uncomfortably so sometimes..

Ian:…I’ll stop going on about it in a minute……

Hazel: .)….. I LOVE your enthusiasm Ian……I get like that over something….I’ve read or seen…or whatever……and want to share it too………

Ian: Just looking on my tablet in bed i found that film Exhibition on YouTube!…. Just for you. Heres the link:

Ian: The whole film is on there for you to watch on your netbook tomorrow ….well, if you want to that is…..

Hazel: WOW ! THE FILM !……brilliant, began watching it at 6.30 am……under my duvet…..totally absorbing…was shaking after….. needed grounding…….ok that may sound a bit dramatic….it did have quite a profound effect…..as I’ve experienced something similar….in the past….it rang some bells…….but without the same ending……. The film is living in us for days and weeks afterwards….

Ian: That film Exhibition still floats through my slipstream frrom time to time…. images keep popping up…..that billowy tree seen from mid-distance caressing (or possibly challenging) the house….Viv Albertine curled like a cat around the hard lines and edges….clinging on to her identity…. the old man in the street holding the baby…. His ‘ I love you’…her ‘Do you love me?’… I’ll be watching this film again in the future…its the kind of film you can watch again….well, I know I could….

Hazel: …..That ‘cloud’ of a duvet in the film…….. the sound it made …… like snow ……..  and their bodies  ….. intertwining  …… separating ……. lovemaking…….. the lovely nakeness of it all …… comfortable and real ……. then uncertainy …… fear of rejection ……. and yes …. as you said ……….’do you love me’ …….. ‘where are you going.’…. he asking …… ‘are you working’….. will you come up’ …… so brilliant…… I have to watch it again…. We did watch it again, 3 months later, together online. It was still as intense.

Leave a Reply

