Giving of Gifts

The dreams you have
I have to give
I bear them to you
From me born

Gifts of your joy
I’d like to give
Sown from my heart
To steal and share

What your gift gives
Is what I’d give
If you awoken would allow

I’d like to give you happiness

The cat that seldom comes when called.

Ian writes: That poem wasn’t “there” to begin with. I hadn’t set out to write it. But it emerged out of the mass of material that surrounded it, and I kept chipping and carving all the extra and the extraneous away to get to the essence at the heart of it….
The I and the You are interchangeable. “You” could be You (Hazel). And You could be “I” (Ian) And vice versa.

That might not be the final version. I might change “steal”. But I did feel like I’d stolen your images from you making those vids.

I didn’t want to send it to you. Because it feels mushy.

That quote about “gifts” you sent me Haze?… right at the beginning ….  was never more apposite… never more true…. or exactly what I needed to hear..

I’m still trying to work out and find what it is I have to give…. if anything…

But I know you’ve been helping me look….

*******

Hazel wrote: We’re both …… giving and sharing ….. having fun …. laughing alot …… amazingly- like-minded ……… so..please …. keep doing what you’re doing ……even if it’s piles of poo… as you call it …… well, you know what they say …… about finding…. treasure….or diamonds in it …..

I will still carry on … describing my walks by the sea …..having tea on the harbour …..and ….. dragging you with me …..if… only in spirit …… to share it all with you

Again I’m saying………YOU have a wonderful gift…..believe me…I can hear it …and see it………and feel it in my heart.

Leave a Reply

