A Red Devon

Haze drew this after we’d seen those cows munching in tune to the bells in Cockington. She knows I like a good cow.

Red Devon cow edit

Illustration: Hazel Brown

I got green hills in me
Right up me udders

Pastured on rollicking
Rolls of meadows sweet

I am. I’s chow-down in chew
I’s proper Devon dozy

Thick double creamed and cosy
You herd my matey moo?

A buddi benign bovine
The easiest clumper cooow

You ever cud meet
Red round and rosey

Summat hard to unrefine
I’s Devon thro and thro

Words: Ian Nisbet

Leave a Reply

