Why do I Love you?

Why do I love you?

Poem inspired by Emily Dickinson.
using the first 2 lines of “Why do I love you?”

“Why do I love”, You Sir?
Because –
The breath does not ask the air
to be there –
To find a word to fill a heartbeat’s
pause.

Because I know – and
Do not you – and I in
Flame –
In Wisdom feel the same?

Thunder – never asks a cloud
Declaring soul struck
Promises – so loud
It just knows.

You, Sir, touch my body’s mind
With soul-breath joining –
Lip-tipped fingers who find
Heart’s Longing.

– Hazel Brown Feb 2017

Leave a Reply

